I’ve finally found Sainthood

A couple of days ago the eagerly anticipated Sainthood by my favourite Canadian twin sisters Tegan and Sara leaked onto the internet, now before you get angry about downloading it, i assure you i have already pre-order a copy along with the three part book On In At. However just like any other Tegan and Sara fanatic i couldn’t wait any longer. Sainthood was due for release on the 27th October 2009, is the 6th studio album for Tegan and Sara and was Co-Produced by Death Cab for Cutie’s Christopher Walla and Howard Redekopp.

After the huge success with The Con I thought that they couldn’t possibly get much better, but without fail they have proven me wrong. I am a huge fan of Tegan and Sara and after many listens though their full record i have to say, to me this takes the award of best album of 2009. Sainthood as Tegan Quin put it is about love and even if the songs aren’t directly about love then they use love as a metaphor  and this is quite evident in Hell. Sainthood addresses themes of love, devotion and relationships and never falls short of accurately portraying these feelings we all experience.

Sainthood is also monumental in the fact that it was the first time that both sisters collaborated together, however only one song Paperback Head made it to the album, thankfully. Tegan and Sara’s writing abilities are so very different from each other and that is what makes them special, they are able to offer two very different perspectives and writing styles. Sorry to say but Paperback Head just didn’t excite me.

I have been a Sara lover for a long time and once again its Sara’s songs that have captivated me within this record. Songs such as On Directing display her complex lyrics that are backed up with catchy melodies such as in Red Belt.

Never fear because Tegan doesn’t fall too short. Tegan impresses me so much with The Ocean and continues to display her simple catchy pop tunes that were shown throughout The Con. Tegan continues to shine when branching out into a semi punk number Northshore and I have to say I cannot wait to dance to this at one of their gigs.

It’s clear to see that both girls seem to have matured in their song writing. Time and time again they do not disappoint with every record they put out. Sainthood is out on 27th October and I encourage everyone to go out and buy it!

Leave a comment